I’m pretty sure that I’ve shared before that Tantrum Tot has been diagnosed (so far) with Severe Repetitive Expressive Speech Delay. He’s two and his vocabulary is almost non-existent. They aged his language skills at approximately 11 months.

However, since he has started attending day-care part time, I have to say we have seen what a marked improvement in his speech and his behavior.

The other day I forget what we were doing, and he said clearly said “I’m stuck Daddy!”  And of course he’s been saying other things like “I poop !” , “More” ,  “Ba Ba”,  “Coo-key”, and “I eat!” when he’s hungry.

This may not seem like a lot to you but to me and my wife that particular “I stuck Daddy” it was like the sun coming out from behind a cloud.  He knew what he wanted to communicate and he did it clearly!

Also, on the days he goes to day care (3 days a week) he comes home happy and playful and between the hours of 7:00 pm and 9:00 pm, he will ask for his “ba”, grab his pillow pet (the big soft fluffy purple one), and his blanket, lays down on the sofa  rolls over and goes to sleep on his own.

I know this may seem trivial to some of you, but for us, who used to have to drive him around at all hours of the night till he passed out, this is progress. Also, it’s so encouraging that he is learning, and growing and developing…I just had to share how very proud of him I am.

Tommy in Shades

