They say when it rains it pours, well we’re in a torrential downpour right now.

I’m a government employee and my wife is a retired government employee. So that as you all know, means until the children on the hill learn to play nice together, we’re not getting paid.

Last weekend, I got word that my brother was admitted to the hospital with congenital heart failure, that basically he was  working on half a heart. An emergency trip seemed imminent. However, since we’re not getting paid I had to tell my family that unless he passes, I can’t make it up there. It sucked tremendously but I had no choice, we’re not a family with resources or savings to fall back on.

Thankfully, he pulled through and I thought now at least I’ll have a chance to go see him soon.

On the heels of this, my wife’s father just passed away. Which meant immediate trip to NY anyway.

Now the day we got the news. I had only around 4 hours sleep. We got up got everything ready grabbed the kids and set off on the road at approximately7:35 pm. At 2:30 am we pulled into a hotel in VA.

Aspie Baby wakes up, Tantrum Tot wakes up…Monkey Boy and Aspie Teen all wake up. Finally everyone gets back to sleep except for…you guessed it…Tantrum Tot. And he’s in rare form. He didn’t pass out till 5:30 am. I passed out very shortly after.

Today we got up at 9:00 am and didn’t get to her  brothers house till 6:35 pm. Tantrum Tot didn’t pass out till1:10 am.

The good thing in all this is that the franticness of it all hasn’t really given my wife time to break down. Keeping busy has held it at bay for now so she could do what she needed to do.

This morning we got up early to get ready for the viewing. 4 adults and 5 kids and one bathroom!!! 

And I still got us there with time to take the kids to get some real NYC pizza. What happened in the pizzeria is subject matter for another post.

