Saturday we took the kids to a festival the next town over. Monkey Boy wanted to race in a go kart race they held. So we bought him a go cart we found on craigslist and entered him in. I spray painted it black and painted Batman symbols all over it. He loved it. We were finishing it up the night before the festival and him and I got to hang out in the basement painting it and watching Let It Shine on Netflix. It was a good night.

MB and has Batmobile

MB and has Batmobile

Then the next morning him and I took the cart in the Jeep and went out there at 8:30 in the morning for practice runs…man was it FREAKING COLD!!!! I can’t believe how cold it was in the end of April!!! And of course I had left my hat and gloves in my desk drawer at work!

Well the rest of this tribe met us there at 11:00 a.m. despite the Monster In Laws usual idiocy prior to leaving and Aspie Teen’s passive resistance ridiculousness that he pulls every time we make him leave the house and the fact that I had to run back home and drop off my wife’s van keys which were in my coat pocket from the night before. (Yeah THAT went over well).

Well the day was going well unit the To had a (I shit you not) hour long meltdown, because he couldn’t race the cart down the hill in the race. So he sat in the cart and Monkey Boy couldn’t race in HIS cart and he couldn’t use HIS helmet (everything is his don’t ya know?).

The Tot making his stand

The Tot making his stand

He didn’t calm down until I let him go down the hill in the cart on the other side of the track, wearing the helmet of course…then he was happy tot again…..I could’ve killed him!

image

Me carrying the Tot back UP the hill

Monkey Boy even entered a pie eating contest! He’s never even eating pie as far as I can tell! And he got his pic in the paper looking too cool too!

Eating pie with perfect hair!

Eating pie with perfect hair!

I don’t know what the locals thought of our autistic family…but the kids had fun and that was the whole point of it anyway.

